Life After College

I want to talk to you about Life after College. This is going to get poetic and mopey. I apologize in advance.

I want to tell you to use the career center, use it like you’re a farmer and it’s the only pitchfork you have. It’s exhausting and it’s disheartening and it feels like you’re hauling piles and piles of shit and getting nowhere, but once you’re out, and you don’t have that anymore, you’re going to be hauling that shit with your hands.

It might work out for you. You might end up with a good job. But if you’re an American, graduating from college right now, you probably won’t.

If you’re an artist, there’s going to be some times when you’ll have to choose between making art and paying rent. No matter what you choose, it’s going to suck. For a long time, the only art I did was doodling on cups. The customers loved it, so I got away with it. I don’t know what I would have done if that hadn’t worked.

If you’re not an artist, God* help you. So many of my coworkers aren’t. In those minimum-wage, soul-crushing, endlessly repeating emotional-labor jobs that keep you just barely alive, they lose their spirit so much faster than the artists do.

There’s so much more I want to say, but most of it is different versions of: if you don’t want to go to college, don’t go.

These are not costs you want to incur if you’re just meh about it.

 

I think I’m just bitter.

…I’m very bitter.

 

*or whatever

Leave a Reply

